This information is provided for informational purposes only. Where there is a discrepancy the Act, Rules, and/or application documents will control.

Shortly before the end of the year, the Governor signed Public Act 98-612 into law.

This Public Act changes the effective date for licensure from January 1, 2014, to July 1, 2014. In addition, the new changes simplify the licensure requirements for some practitioners. The main change is that practitioners that have been listed on the Sex Offender Management Board's Approved Provider List for a minimum of two years do not have to document or demonstrate the required hours of supervised experience and training. 'Grandfather' applications for the Evaluator and Treatment Provider licenses are now available on the Department's website. Please note that the 'grandfather' path to licensure will only be available until January 1, 2015.

Below is a summary of the licensure requirements, including notations regarding the new 'grandfather' provisions.

## Licensure summary:

The Sex Offender Evaluation and Treatment Provider Act creates three licenses:

- Sex Offender Evaluator
  - Provides face-to-face sex-offender specific evaluations to assess risk to the community, identify and document treatment and development needs, and determines amenability to treatment. Note this is separate from the Sex Offender Treatment Provider scope of practice.
  - o Licensure requirements:
    - Active License in Illinois as a physician, APN (with psychiatric specialty), clinical psychologist, clinical social worker, clinical professional counselor, or marriage and family therapist; or an equivalent license in another state;
    - 400 hours of supervised experience in treatment or evaluation of sex offenders in the last 4 years (200 must be face-to-face) (requirement satisfied if the applicant has been listed on the Sex Offender Management Board's Approved Provider List for a minimum of 2 years);
    - 40 clock hours of training in sex offender evaluation, treatment or management (requirement satisfied if the applicant has been listed on the Sex Offender Management Board's Approved Provider List for a minimum of 2 years); and
    - 10 sex offender evaluations under supervision in the past 4 years (requirement satisfied if the applicant verifies that he or she has completed 10 evaluations in the 4 years before application);
- Sex Offender Treatment Provider

- Provides therapeutic interventions and experiences to reduce the risk of further sexual offending and abusive behaviors by the offender. Note this is separate from the Sex Offender Evaluator scope of practice.
- o Licensure requirements:
  - Active License in Illinois as a physician, APN (with psychiatric specialty), clinical psychologist, clinical social worker, clinical professional counselor, or marriage and family therapist; or an equivalent license in another state;
  - 400 hours of supervised experience in treatment or evaluation of sex offenders in the last 4 years (200 must be face-to-face) (requirement satisfied if the applicant has been listed on the Sex Offender Management Board's Approved Provider List for a minimum of 2 years);
  - 40 clock hours of training in sex offender evaluation, treatment or management(requirement satisfied if the applicant has been listed on the Sex Offender Management Board's Approved Provider List for a minimum of 2 years);
- Associate Sex Offender Provider
  - Must be supervised by a person holding a license as a sex offender evaluator or sex offender treatment provider. Please see the Rules for additional information regarding supervision of Associate Sex Offender Providers.
  - o Licensure requirements:
    - Master's degree or higher in social work, psychology, marriage and family therapy, counseling or psychiatry.

## Helpful links:

DPR: http://www.ildpr.com/DPRdefault.asp

Profession Specific Page: <a href="http://www.idfpr.com/profs/info/SO.asp">http://www.idfpr.com/profs/info/SO.asp</a>

(The following links can also be found on the profession page linked above) Sex Offender Evaluation and Treatment Provider Act: <a href="http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=3431&ChapterID=24">http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=3431&ChapterID=24</a>

Rules: <a href="http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/06801280sections.html">http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/06801280sections.html</a>

Application forms: <a href="http://www.idfpr.com/renewals/apply/SO.asp">http://www.idfpr.com/renewals/apply/SO.asp</a>

Public Act 98-0612 <a href="http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/fulltext.asp?Name=098-0612&GA=98">http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/fulltext.asp?Name=098-0612&GA=98</a>

Please note:

- There is a separate fee and application for each license. There is no reduction in fee for applying for both the Treatment Provider and Evaluator Licenses. There is no combined Evaluator and Treatment Provider license.
- Licenses under this act will expire on July 31 of odd years.
- Processing of applications takes approximately 4 weeks.
- Individuals that have licenses in other states are required to submit Certifications of Licensures from those states, even if they currently hold an Illinois license.

Questions regarding applications should be directed to the Department's phone support staff at : 1-800-560-6420.